ICD10: What is it?

ICD10 stands for the International Classification of Diseases (ICD). The 10 stands for the 10th revision which is the current version, physicianphysician best viagrabest viagra and came into use in 1994.

ICD10 is maintained and published by the World Health Organisation's (WHO) and it is used primarily by the World Health Organisation member states to classify and diagnose every illness and describes their symptoms.

The ICD10 incorporates section F, remedyremedy 'The Blue Book' or the Classification of Mental and Behavioural Disorders: Clinical descriptions and diagnostic guidelines. This is similar to the United States DSM-IV or the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, however the ICD10 is what most of the rest of the world (including the UK) uses to diagnose mental conditions including anxiet and fear related issues..


The full ICD10 contains details and how to diagnose every known mental disorder from intoxication to retardation and everything between, including neuronal injuries and every fear and anxiety disorder. As you can imagine it is quite a large set of documents.

Unlike the American DSM-IV 5 Axis system the ICD10 has 11 main categories of Mental Disorders, which are as follows:

  1. F0 Organic, including symptomatic, mental disorders
  2. F1 Mental and behavioural disorders due to use of psychoactive substances
  3. F2 Schizophrenia, schizotypal and delusional disorders
  4. F3 Mood [affective] disorders
  5. F4 Neurotic, stress-related and somatoform disorders
  6. F5 Behavioural syndromes associated with physiological disturbances and physical factors
  7. F6 Disorders of personality and behaviour in adult persons
  8. F7 Mental retardation
  9. F8 Disorders of psychological development
  10. F9 Behavioural and emotional disorders with onset usually occurring in childhood and adolescence
  11. F00 Unspecified Mental Disorders

The main difference between the DSM-IV and ICD10 is that the DSM is categorised based an symptoms and the ICD is categorised based on cause and symptoms. Anxiety and fear related issues like phobias etc are mainly contained in F3, F4, and F5 with a few in F8 and F9.

See an article on the DSM-IV.


Go to More Fear Course Articles

Learn to take control better with the Fear Course.

Do the Online Fear Course or attend The Fear Course Live.

You can learn to take control of your emotions at will, when and where you want from the experts.

Credit where credit is due. Play fair and acknowledge the authors' work and expertise.

These articles are protected by worldwide Copyright © David Wilkinson / Centre i Ltd. 2008 - 2013: you may link to these articles but copying or re-posting / embedding without acknowledgement is a breach of copyright.